Camp Centennial Milestones
Return to Camp Centennial Milestones
YMCA Camp Mason
Camp Mason's story begins in 1900 when the Trenton/Mercer
County YMCA organized its first season of residential
summer camp at Camp Washington, near Washington's Crossing,
NJ. Several years later the camp moved to Marshall
Island (also known as Eagle Island) in the Delaware
River and changed its name to Camp James J. Wilson.
An epic flood inundated the island in 1955 and the
camp was moved to its current location in Hardwick,
NJ. Another name change accompanied the move: Camp
Wilson became Central New Jersey YMCA Camps.
At this time the camp organized itself as an independent
YMCA association, serving children from across the
tri-state area. In the 1970's the camp's name was changed
again to Camp Ralph S. Mason to honor the man who was
instrumental in relocating and rebuilding the camp
after the flood. Mr. Mason was a camper and staff member
who grew up to serve as President of the Board of Trustees
for 34 years. His two sons, Rip and Tom, remain involved
with the camp to this day.
Today Camp Mason welcomes approximately 800 campers
each summer to its 650-acre facility in the Delaware
Water Gap. A western ranch program, extensive outdoor
adventure opportunities, and popular teen leadership
programs make Camp Mason an exceptional traditional
resident camping experience for children and families
from all walks of life.